How to push through when you feel like quitting

IMG_4264

Photo by me.

I have found that no matter what you choose to do, the desire to quit or give up will at some point appear in your mind. This has happened too many times to me. Take my blogging for example, often I struggle to take time out to sit down and write. Sometimes I just want to take a break from my weekly posting. When it comes to waking up at 6am for volunteering, I often ask myself just as the alarm goes off for the third time that morning “Why in the world am I doing this?”.

These three things have helped me when all I have wanted to do is quit.

  1. I remind myself that the feeling of showing up is ten folds better than quitting.

The feeling of euphoria and satisfaction from publishing my blog post is one of my motivations for writing. I have once heard that creating is the key to making your soul live. Creating reminds you of your creator and lifts the focus off self. While I have found it hard to start creating, once I started, the dread immediately dissipates.

  1. I focus on the why rather than the what.

Why did I start writing? I enjoy writing. I believe that in this digital age, writing in the form of short articles or lists is the way to break down wisdom from books into bite size chunks. Sometimes we simply don’t have time for a 500 page book, but we can spare 15 minutes a day for a blog post that is relatable and encouraging. It can be likened to the idea of consuming small snacks throughout the day to boost your metabolism rather than having one big buffet for dinner. So when I focus on my belief that if one person reads my blog post and is impacted, then that is worth my time spent on writing it.

  1. I focus on delivering promises.

On my about page, I promised that I would update my blog once a week. I want to be a promise keeper. I want to be someone who can be trusted to come true on her words. I don’t like disappointing others. Even though I may not have a large group of readers, if I can’t be trusted with a small following, I know I will fail when my platform grows.

Standard

3 thoughts on “How to push through when you feel like quitting

  1. Pallavi Valsangkar says:

    Hi I came to your blog through Jeff Goins 21 day blogging challenge on FB. I am falling behind on my writing and your post really gave me the motivation to show up, focus on reason and stay committed. Your writing style is very clear and easily get your point across to the readers. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

